There’s no place like home for world champion Bartosz Zmarzlik – Enea Gorzow SGP round three winner

Courtesy of FIM Speedway Grand Prix


World champion Bartosz Zmarzlik admitted “I feel at my best” in Gorzow after celebrating an “unbelievable” victory in Enea Gorzow FIM Speedway Grand Prix round three on Friday.

The 26-year-old saw off an incredible last-lap challenge from Aussie icon Jason Doyle to win his home event for the second time in his career.

Zmarzlik famously topped the 2014 Gorzow SGP podium as a wild card – becoming the youngest-ever SGP winner at 19 years and 140 days old.

Now he’s very much the King of the Edward Jancarz Stadium and won six of his seven races on his way to a maximum 20 World Championship points, which puts him on 48 overall – just one behind series leader Maciej Janowski.

Zmarzlik has become an icon in his city and admits there’s something extra special about topping the Gorzow podium.

He said: “This is an unbelievable night. Everything is working so well and a big thank you to my team and all the fans. You are the best!

“I live in Gorzow and I feel at my best here. I am very happy because it’s the second time I have won a GP in Gorzow.

“Winning a GP in Gorzow is a little bit different to other rounds because this is my home track and these are my home people. I live my whole life here.

“It has been really nice and I am really happy with everything today. Everything worked really nicely.

“It was a very big feeling for four laps in the final with Jason Doyle. He kept going after me all the time – right to the last corner.

“I am happy I won. But I must go home and get a good sleep. Tomorrow is a new day and everyone starts again.”

Former world champion Jason Doyle piled the pressure on Zmarzlik in a breathtaking last lap in the final, dive-bombing the local hero on the last corner. Zmarzlik held his nerve and maintained his momentum to top the podium, but 18 championship points sees Doyle rocket from 15th place in the standings prior to the meeting up to seventh on 26.

After scoring eight points combined in the opening two rounds and enduring an up-and-down season in Poland’s PGE Ekstraliga, Czestochowa star Doyle paid tribute to those who helped him bounced back.

He said: “It has been a tough year, but I have worked really hard – and not just myself. My mechanics and family have done a lot behind the scenes when times have been tough; these are things you don’t always see. There are a lot of good people in my corner and I want to say thanks to them now. This is a step in the right direction and it’s always nice to be on the podium at any GP.”

Third-placed Fredrik Lindgren reached his third SGP final in as many rounds and is determined to keep that run going in a season when the biggest rewards go to riders who make it into the rostrum race.

He said: “It’s really important – it’s a nice streak to have, being in the final three times. I am happy so far with my performances at these first three rounds. But we need to keep this going. With this points system, it’s so important to make it all the way.”

There will be more World Championship action in Gorzow on Saturday as Edward Jancarz Stadium stages Enea Gorzow SGP round four.

Before the racing starts, fans can catch episode two of Speedway GP’s brand-new magazine show Talking Dirt – Fuelled by Monster Energy – live on Speedway GP Facebook and YouTube from 17:00 UK / 18:00 CET.

WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP STANDINGS: 1 Maciej Janowski 48, 2 Bartosz Zmarzlik 47, 3 Fredrik Lindgren 46, 4 Tai Woffinden 43, 5 Artem Laguta 40, 6 Leon Madsen 32, 7 Jason Doyle 26, 8 Martin Vaculik 24, 9 Emil Sayfutdinov 22, 10 Matej Zagar 21, 11 Niels-Kristian Iversen 20, 12 Max Fricke 16, 13 Mikkel Michelsen 16, 14 Gleb Chugunov 16, 15 Patryk Dudek 15, 16 Antonio Lindback 3, 17 Anders Thomsen 3.

ENEA GORZOW SGP ROUND 3 POINTS: 1 Bartosz Zmarzlik 20, 2 Jason Doyle 18, 3 Fredrik Lindgren 16, 4 Leon Madsen 14, 5 Martin Vaculik 12, 6 Tai Woffinden 11, 7 Maciej Janowski 10, 8 Matej Zagar 9, 9 Artem Laguta 8, 10 Emil Sayfutdinov 7, 11 Niels-Kristian Iversen 6, 12 Mikkel Michelsen 5, 13 Max Fricke 4, 14 Anders Thomsen 3, 15 Patryk Dudek 2, 16 Antonio Lindback 1, 17 Wiktor Jasinski 0, 18 Rafal Karczmarz 0.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.