Tankwa Trek – Stage 1 Highlights | Big disappointment for favorites Fumic/Avancini

Courtesy of quattro media


Shocking moments in first stage of Tankwa Trek 2020

The highlights of the first Stage oft he Tankwa Trek 2020 in South Africa. The Momentum Medical Scheme Tankwa Trek presented by Biogen is truly a ride like no other. South Africa’s premier four-day stage race takes place from 6-9 February 2020 as one of the first UCI events of the season. With breath-taking trails through the Bokkeveld and winding routes in the Witzenburg area, this race features some of the most unique scenery South Africa has to offer.

With a total distance of 285.5 kilometres and 5.750m of climbing some of the world’s best mountainbikers as well as aspiring amateurs will take on this journey.

The UCI competitors list is stronger than ever with former world champs, Cape Epic winners and of course the defending champions from 2019. Just to drop a few names: Manuel Fumic (GER) & Henrique Avancini (BRA), Karl Platt (GER) & Alban Lakata (AUT) as well as Urs Huber (SUI) & Simon Stiebjahn (GER) will race for this year’s title.

The last years women race winner Sweden’s Jennie Stenerhag and South Africa’s Mariske Strauss partnered up with new team members. Stenerhag is now racing with Nadine Rieder from Germany and Mariske Strauss with Candice Lill (RSA). Among the top contenders are Barbara Benko (HUN) & Anne Terpstra (NED), Robyn de Groth (RSA) & Adelheid Morath (GER) as well as the GB Cycling Team Annie Last & Isla Short.

Today’s stage 1 at the iconic Tankwa Trek is a short one with only 24.5km and 400m of ascent. Beautiful rewarding singletracks, step and short climbs as well as magical downhills awaiting the riders.

Momentum Medical Scheme Tankwa Trek presented by Biogen – Stage 1 – Highlights from World of Freesports on Vimeo.

Momentum Medical Scheme Tankwa Trek presented by Biogen – Stage 1 – News from World of Freesports on Vimeo.

Results MEN Stage 1 Results WOMEN Stage 1
1| CST Sandd Bafang MTB // Sebastian Fini (DEN) & David Nordemann (NED) 1| Faces CST // Mariske Strauss (RSA) & Candice Lill (RSA)
2| Cannondale Factory Racing TWO // Maxime Marotte (FRA) & Grant Ferguson (GBR) 2| Ghost Factory // Barbara Benko (HUN) & Anne Terpstra (NED)
3| DANSTE Racing / MEGATECH // Alexander Miler (NAM) & Tristan de Lange (NAM) 3| Team Fairtree // Jennie Stenerhag (SWE) & Nadine Rieder (GER)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.