No Competition Today at Corona Open J-Bay

Courtesy of WSL – World Surf League

  • Next Call: Saturday, July 13, at 7:30 AM SAST
  • Second-Consecutive Lay Day Called Due to Small Surf, Building Swell Expected for Tomorrow 
  • More Available at
Pictured: When the Corona Open J-Bay resumes, Silvana Lima (BRA) will face defending event winner Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) in the opening heat of the Round of 16. Credit: © WSL / Sloane

JEFFREYS BAY, South Africa (Friday, July 12, 2019) – The Corona Open J-Bay, the 2019 World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour (CT), will be OFF today due to small surf on offer. The next call will be tomorrow, Saturday, July 13, at 7:30 a.m. SAST for a possible 8:05 a.m. start.

“The Corona Open J-Bay is off for the day,” said Travis Logie, WSL Competition Director. “The swell is starting to fill in, but it’s still really inconsistent. I’m sure there are going to be some waves before dark but not enough to run the event. Tomorrow is looking pretty good, so check back in.”

Watch: The Call with Pat O’Connell

The next call for the Corona Open J-Bay will be Saturday, July 13, at 7:30 a.m. SAST for a possible 8:05 a.m. start. 

The Corona Open J-Bay will be broadcast LIVE on and Also check local listings for coverage from the WSL’s broadcast partners.

For more information and full competition replays from the Corona Open J-Bay, please visit
Surfline Forecast for the Corona Open J-Bay

Corona Open J-Bay Women’s Round of 16 Matchups: 
Heat 1: Stephanie Gilmore (AUS) vs. Silvana Lima (BRA) 
Heat 2: Caroline Marks (USA) vs. Paige Hareb (NZL) 
Heat 3: Carissa Moore (HAW) vs. Keely Andrew (AUS) 
Heat 4: Tatiana Weston-Webb (BRA) vs. Johanne Defay (FRA) 
Heat 5: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS) vs. Macy Callaghan (AUS)
Heat 6: Malia Manuel (HAW) vs. Brisa Hennessy (CRI) 
Heat 7: Courtney Conlogue (USA) vs. Nikki Van Dijk (AUS)
Heat 8: Lakey Peterson (USA) vs. Bronte Macaulay (AUS)

Corona Open J-Bay Men’s Round of 32 Matchups: 
Heat 1: Jordy Smith (ZAF) vs. Soli Bailey (AUS)
Heat 2: Owen Wright (AUS) vs. Joan Duru (FRA)
Heat 3: Gabriel Medina (BRA) vs. Griffin Colapinto (USA)
Heat 4: Ryan Callinan (AUS) vs. Yago Dora (BRA)
Heat 5: Kolohe Andino (USA) vs. Adriano de Souza (BRA)
Heat 6: Jeremy Flores (FRA) vs. Deivid Silva (BRA) 
Heat 7: Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. Ezekiel Lau (HAW) 
Heat 8: Conner Coffin (USA) vs. Adrian Buchan (AUS) 
Heat 9: Filipe Toledo (BRA) vs. Michael February (ZAF) 
Heat 10: Michael Rodrigues (BRA) vs. Willian Cardoso (BRA)
Heat 11: Wade Carmichael (AUS) vs. Sebastian Zietz (HAW) 
Heat 12: Michel Bourez (FRA) vs. Ricardo Christie (NZL) 
Heat 13: Kanoa Igarashi (JPN) vs. Frederico Morais (PRT) 
Heat 14: Seth Moniz (HAW) vs. Peterson Crisanto (BRA) 
Heat 15: Kelly Slater (USA) vs. Caio Ibelli (BRA) 
Heat 16: Italo Ferreira (BRA) vs. Jack Freestone (AUS)

More available at

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.