Márquez storms to victory at Argentine Grand Prix

Courtesy of Red Bull Media Service Team

Spaniard leads from first to last and wins by personal best margin.

MotoGP world champion Marc Márquez destroyed the field at the Gran Premio Motul De La Republica Argentina to win by a distance from Valentino Rossi and Andrea Dovizioso. Here is all you need to know:

–       Bad weather was expected at the Autódromo Termas de Río Hondo, but the race was actually held in dry conditions.

–       Márquez’s winning margin of 9.816 seconds is his biggest winning margin of all time in MotoGP.

–       Márquez started from pole position and was never headed, lapping at around half a second quicker than the field for the majority of the race.

–       The reigning world champion could have won by an even bigger margin, but slowed towards the end to protect himself from any potential issues with his rear tyre.

–       Rossi and Dovizioso were in a battle for second place that was eventually settled on the final lap when Rossi passed Dovizioso up the inside at Turn 7 to take the runner-up spot.

–       The result sees Márquez overtake Dovizioso in the overall standings, with Rossi moving up to third position.

–       Dovizioso revealed: “Happy for the podium, because when we came here it was our target, but I’m not happy in the way the tyre worked during the race and I had to stay in front to manage the tyres.”

–       Jorge Lorenzo had to settle for 12th place after admitting prior to the race that he’s taking things cautiously on his return from injury.

–       Red Bull KTM Factory duo Pol Espargaro and Johann Zarco finished 10th and 15th respectively, while Red Bull KTM Tech 3 pair Miguel Oliveira and Hafizh Syahrin were placed 11th and 16th respectively.

Argentina GP result

1. Marc Márquez (SPA) Repsol Honda 41m 43.688s
2. Valentino Rossi (ITA) Monster Yamaha +9.816s
3. Andrea Dovizioso (ITA) Ducati Team +10.530s
4. Jack Miller (AUS) Pramac Racing +12.140s
5. Alex Rins (SPA) Suzuki Ecstar +12.563s

2019 MotoGP rider standings:

1. Marc Márquez (SPA) 45 points
2. Andrea Dovizioso (ITA) 41
3. Valentino Rossi (ITA) 31
4. Alex Rins (SPA) 24
5. Danilo Petrucci (ITA) 20

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.