Great Britain’s Robert Lambert named as 2019 FIM Speedway Grand Prix series first substitute rider as full 2019 line-up and rankings are finalised

Courtesy of FIM Speedway Grand Prix

The substitute riders and full rankings for the 2019 FIM Speedway Grand Prix series have been confirmed.

British champion Robert Lambert could get the chance to mix it with the sport’s biggest stars next year after being named as the first substitute – putting him first in line for a call-up if any of the 15 SGP regulars are sidelined due to injury, illness or other riders.

Lambert has enjoyed an outstanding 2018 season, winning Monster Energy FIM Speedway of Nations silver with his country as well as the British senior and junior titles – making him the first rider to lift both in the same year. He also finished third in the FIM Speedway Under-21 World Championship and the Speedway European Championship.

He lines up in the SGB Premiership Grand Final for King’s Lynn tonight and on Wednesday, and has enjoyed a stellar season in Poland, inspiring Lublin to the Polish First Division title and PGE Ekstraliga promotion. He also helped Rospiggarna reach the Swedish Elitserien semi-finals.


Former World Under-21 champion Max Fricke has been named as the second substitute star. The Aussie international has had an impressive season throughout Europe with Belle Vue, Rospiggarna and Wroclaw, as well as representing his country in the Monster Energy SON Final.

Danish racer Mikkel Michelsen is the third standby rider. He scored a 14 paid 15-point maximum in the Swedish Elitserien play-off final decider to earn Smederna their second straight title. He also finished fourth in the SEC series.

Czech star Vaclav Milik is the fourth substitute. The Pardubice racer is his nation’s No.1 star, representing his country in the Monster Energy SON. He appeared in this year’s SGP events in Prague and Torun.

And the fifth and final substitute spot has been handed to Poland’s new World Under-21 champion Bartosz Smektala. He has enjoyed a sensational 2018 after snatching junior speedway’s biggest prize, as well as playing a key role in Leszno retaining their PGE Ekstraliga title.

FULL 2019 FIM SPEEDWAY GRAND PRIX LINE-UP (in ranking order with rider numbers to be confirmed): 1 Tai Woffinden, 2 Bartosz Zmarzlik, 3 Fredrik Lindgren, 4 Maciej Janowski, 5 Greg Hancock, 6 Artem Laguta, 7 Jason Doyle, 8 Emil Sayfutdinov, 9 Patryk Dudek, 10 Matej Zagar, 11 Martin Vaculik, 12 Niels-Kristian Iversen, 13 Janusz Kolodziej, 14 Antonio Lindback, 15 Leon Madsen. SUBSTITUTES: S1 Robert Lambert, S2 Max Fricke, S3 Mikkel Michelsen, S4 Vaclav Milik, S5 Bartosz Smektala.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.