Three pivotal days for Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup hopefuls

Courtesy of Red Bull Media Service Team

Talented young riders out to follow success of Binder and Mir in Spain.

The Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup Selection Event for the 2020 season gets underway on Monday at the Guadix track in Spain with talented young riders looking to join those carrying on from this year.

Here is all you need to know:

– Eleven riders remain from the 2019 field of this, the feeder series for the Moto3, Moto2 and MotoGP World Championships with another 12 slots up for grabs at the end of three days of action.

– They will be whittled down from over a hundred riders coming from 37 nations. Guys and girls from all corners of the world, from India to Venezuela, Greece to New Zealand, will converge in Guadix, united by a love of speed.

– This was the route taken by World Champions including Brad Binder and Joan Mir who, along with other ex-Rookies, are heading toward achieving 100 GP victories.

– South African Binder raced in the Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup for three years before graduating to the Moto3 World Championship which he won in 2016. Stepping up to Moto2 for two strong, GP winning seasons, he now graduates to MotoGP with Tech 3 KTM for the 2020 season alongside another ex Rookie, Miguel Oliveira.

– The first half of the huge Selection Event field starts on day one with seven groups riding around the Guadix track in seven groups on identical PreMoto3 250cc machines with each group of 8 riders riding for 15 minutes in front of four experienced judges.

– The afternoon session gives the youngsters another opportunity and, at the end of the day, the Selection Committee draws up a list of riders to be invited back for Day 3. The second day repeats the format for the second half of the riders.

– The last day sees the remaining riders out to impress the judges again, with the final choice made that afternoon concerning who is invited to join the Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup for 2020.

2020 Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup qualified riders

1. Phillip Tonn (GER)
2. Alex Escrig (SPA)
3. Matteo Bertelle (ITA)
4. Billy van Eerde (AUS)
5. Mario Aji (IDN)
6. Pedro Acosta (SPA)
7. David Salvador (SPA)
8. Gabin Planques (FRA)
9. Zonta van den Goorbergh (NED)
10. Artem Maraev (RUS)
11. Marcos Uriarte (SPA)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.