Teams announced for Monster Energy FIM Speedway World Cup Event 2 at Vastervik on July 26

Courtesy of FIM Speedway Grand Prix


The final line-ups for Event 2 of the Monster Energy FIM Speedway World Cup in Vastervik on Tuesday, July 26 have been confirmed.

Defending champions and hosts Sweden launch their bid for a second straight gold medal against Australia, the USA and qualifiers Germany.

The Swedes stick with three of the riders who starred in their 2015 Monster Energy SWC Final victory at Vojens, with skipper Andreas Jonsson, Adrian Flux British SGP winner Antonio Lindback and Fredrik Lindgren all in the side.

The quartet is completed by former SGP star Peter Ljung, who appeared in Sweden’s Event 1 win at Gniezno last year, before losing his spot to Lindgren for the Final. World Under-21 finalist Joel Andersson serves as reserve.

Australia’s challenge is spearheaded by 2012 world champion Chris Holder and Jason Doyle, who is currently third in the World Championship.

Team manager Mark Lemon hands Monster Energy SWC debuts to the in-form Max Fricke and Sam Masters, with Brady Kurtz named as reserve.

The USA will be led into action by Swedish-based triple world champion Greg Hancock, whose experience will prove vital to the side in Vastervik.

New team manager Lance King tracks Ryan Fisher and Ricky Wells alongside Grin, with Billy Janniro returning to the international fold to complete the team. Luke Becker is their reserve rider.

Germany go into the event with 2014 New Zealand SGP winner Martin Smolinski leading their challenge. He teams up with Kai Huckenbeck, Tobias Kroner and Kevin Wolbert. The Germans have not named a reserve rider.

The winners in Vastervik earn a spot at the Monster Energy SWC Final in Manchester on July 30, with the second and third-placed teams entering the Race Off at Britain’s new National Speedway Stadium on July 29.

Tickets for Event 2 are still available online. Visit:


AUSTRALIA (RED): 1 Chris Holder (captain), 2 Sam Masters, 3 Max Fricke, 4 Jason Doyle. RESERVE: Brady Kurtz. TEAM MANAGER: Mark Lemon.

USA (BLUE): 1 Greg Hancock (captain), 2 Ryan Fisher, 3 Billy Janniro, 4 Ricky Wells. RESERVE: Luke Becker. TEAM MANAGER: Lance King.

GERMANY (WHITE): 1 Kevin Wolbert, 2 Kai Huckenbeck, 3 Tobias Kroner, 4 Martin Smolinski (captain). RESERVE: None selected. TEAM MANAGER: Herbert Rudolph.

SWEDEN (YELLOW): 1 Antonio Lindback, 2 Fredrik Lindgren, 3 Andreas Jonsson (captain), 4 Peter Ljung. RESERVE: Joel Andersson. TEAM MANAGER: Morgan Andersson.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.