Tahiti Pro Teahupo’o Competition Off for Today

Courtesy of WSL – World Surf League

– World’s best surfers prepare for probable start tomorrow
– more information at Worldsurfleague.com

San Clemente’s Kolohe Andino trains at Teahupo’o ahead a possibvle Round 1 start tomorrow Credit: © WSL / Cestari


Location:       Teahupo’o, Tahiti 
Event window:    August 10 – 21, 2018
Today’s call:    Lay Day, Next Call Tomorrow at 6am
Conditions:     Small and onshore
TEAHUPO’O, Tahiti (Saturday, August 11, 2018) – Event organizers have called a lay day for Tahiti Pro Teahupo’o competition with only small, onshore waves on offer at the world-famous South Pacific reef pass.

Event No. 7 on the 2018 WSL Championship Tour, the Tahiti Pro will commence competition in the coming days with conditions forecasted to improve.

“Competition is off for the day as we’re seeing only the projected small surf and onshore winds this morning,” Kieren Perrow, WSL Commissioner said. “We are expecting a pulse to move through over the next 72 hours and we’ll be looking closely at commencing competition tomorrow morning. That said, we’ll continue monitor and make a decision then.”

Surfline, official forecaster for the Tahiti Pro, are calling for:

Surf remains minimal on Saturday, but look for signs of a new swell to start showing before dark. A fun size pulse of SSW-South swell is due to move in for Sun/Mon.

Event organizers will reconvene at 6am tomorrow morning to assess conditions for a possible start to competition.

When the Tahiti Pro commences, the action will be broadcast LIVE on WorldSurfLeague.com and the WSL’s Facebook page. Also, check local listings for coverage from the WSL’s broadcast partners.

For more information, check out WorldSurfLeague.com

Tahiti Pro Round 1 Matchups:
Heat 1: 
Wade Carmichael (AUS), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Joan Duru (FRA)
Heat 2: Jordy Smith (ZAF), Ezekiel Lau (HAW), Ian Gouveia (BRA)
Heat 3: Italo Ferreira (BRA), Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Miguel Pupo (BRA)
Heat 4: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Tomas Hermes (BRA), Wiggolly Dantas (BRA)
Heat 5: Julian Wilson (AUS), Joel Parkinson (AUS), Mateia Hiquily (PYF)
Heat 6: Filipe Toledo (BRA), Tago Dora (BRA), Tikanui Smith (PYF)
Heat 7: Willian Cardoso (BRA), Frederico Morais (PRT), Michael February (ZAF)
Heat 8: Michel Bourez (PYF), Kanoa Igarashi (JPN), Keanu Asing (HAW)
Heat 9: Mikey Wright (AUS), Adriano de Souza (BRA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 10: Griffin Colapinto (USA), Kolohe Andino (USA), Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 11: Owen Wright (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Jesse Mendes (BRA)
Heat 12: Conner Coffin (USA), Michael Rodrigues (BRA), Connor O’Leary (AUS)


About WSL
The World Surf League (WSL) is dedicated to celebrating the world’s best surfing on the world’s best waves through a variety of best-in-class audience platforms. The League, headquartered in Santa Monica, is a global sport with regional offices in Australasia, Africa, North America, South America, Hawaii, Japan and Europe.The WSL has been championing the world’s best surfing since 1976, annually running in excess of 180 global events across the Men’s and Women’s Championship Tours, the Big Wave Tour, Qualifying Series, Junior and Longboard Championships, as well as the WSL Big Wave Awards. The League possesses a deep appreciation for the sport’s rich heritage while promoting progression, innovation and performance at the highest levels, and in doing so crowns the undisputed world champions in Men’s, Women’s across all divisions within the tour.

Showcasing the world’s best surfing on its digital platform at WorldSurfLeague.com as well as the free WSL app, the WSL has a passionate global fan base with millions tuning in to see world-class athletes like Tyler Wright, John John Florence, Paige Alms, Kai Lenny, Taylor Jensen, Honolua Blomfield, Mick Fanning, Stephanie Gilmore, Kelly Slater, Carissa Moore, Gabriel Medina, Courtney Conlogue and more battle on the most unpredictable and dynamic field of play of any sport in the world.

For more information, please visit WorldSurfLeague.com



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.