Polish star Maciej Janowski ready to ramp up FIM Speedway Grand Prix title bid in Gorzow

Courtesy of FIM Speedway Grand Prix

FIM Speedway Grand Prix frontrunner Maciej Janowski pledged “we will be ready for hard racing” as he steps up his world title challenge at Enea Gorzow SGP rounds three and four on Friday and Saturday.

Magic heads to the Edward Jancarz Stadium as World Championship leader on 38 points after winning round two in his home city Wroclaw on Saturday, August 29 – 24 hours after finishing second in Friday’s opening round.

He heads to Gorzow on a huge high after seeing off SGP rival Bartosz Zmarzlik in a titanic tussle to win the Polish Championship Final in Leszno on Monday.

Janowski lifted his first Polish title in Gorzow in 2015. While he admits it’s not his favourite track, the 29-year-old is determined to maintain his momentum in the world title race after a lightening start to SGP 2020 two weeks ago.

He said: “Gorzow never used to be my favourite place, but I also won the Polish title there. The track will be the same for everyone. I will just prepare the best I can and fight for everything I can get.

“We did a great job in Wroclaw, but we have three more weekends like this. We will try to do everything like last time, prepare well and just try to push even more. I hope we won’t miss anything and we will be ready for hard racing.”

Janowski’s quest for the sport’s biggest prize is boosted by the presence of chief mechanic Rafal Haj in his SGP crew.

The Pole was part of American great Greg Hancock’s team when he claimed three of his four world crowns. Like Magic, Haj hails from Wroclaw and has followed Janowski’s career for a long time.

The Californian retired in February and Haj made a permanent move to Janowski’s pit corner. The seven-time SGP winner admits his experience and ideas have been a huge boost.

He said: “It’s great to have Rafal in my team. He looks at many different things and since the beginning of the season we have tried so many things.

“We have made many changes to our bikes and put in a lot of work. We still have a couple of ideas. I am glad to have him on my side.”

Janowski, who has 38 championship points, holds a six-point lead at the top of the standings over Russian star Artem Laguta and Great Britain hero Tai Woffinden, who are deadlocked on 32 in second and third respectively.

Fredrik Lindgren is in fourth place on 30, while world champion Zmarzlik goes into his home event placed fifth on 27.

Zmarzlik is joined in representing host club Gorzow by Niels-Kristian Iversen and wild card Anders Thomsen of Denmark.

In-form Thomsen is the second foreigner to be handed the No.16 race jacket for the Gorzow SGP – following in the footsteps of Darcy Ward, who was called up for the event in 2011.

The 26-year-old is grateful for the opportunity and has his sights set on mounting a podium push.

He said: “I think my form is pretty good, so I am confident I can get some really good results and maybe stand on the podium in the end.

“I want to show people I can be in the GP. Last year I was so close to getting into the GP series. I didn’t get the chance to qualify at the GP Challenge this year, so I really want to show I can be one of the boys at the top.”

GORZOW LINE-UP (in FIM ranking order with riding numbers): 95 Bartosz Zmarzlik (Poland), 30 Leon Madsen (Denmark), 89 Emil Sayfutdinov (Russia), 66 Fredrik Lindgren (Sweden), 54 Martin Vaculik (Slovakia), 71 Maciej Janowski (Poland), 69 Jason Doyle (Australia), 692 Patryk Dudek (Poland), 55 Matej Zagar (Slovenia), 88 Niels-Kristian Iversen (Denmark), 222 Artem Laguta (Russia), 85 Antonio Lindback (Sweden), 108 Tai Woffinden (Great Britain), 46 Max Fricke (Australia), 155 Mikkel Michelsen (Denmark), 16 Anders Thomsen (Denmark – wild card), 17 Rafal Karczmarz (Poland – first track reserve), 18 Wiktor Jasinski (Poland – second track reserve).

WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP STANDINGS: 1 Maciej Janowski 38, 2 Artem Laguta 32, 3 Tai Woffinden 32, 4 Fredrik Lindgren 30, 5 Bartosz Zmarzlik 27, 6 Leon Madsen 18, 7 Gleb Chugunov 16, 8 Emil Sayfutdinov 15, 9 Niels-Kristian Iversen 14, 10 Patryk Dudek 13, 11 Martin Vaculik 12, 12 Matej Zagar 12, 13 Max Fricke 12, 14 Mikkel Michelsen 11, 15 Jason Doyle 8, 16 Antonio Lindback 2, 17 Michal Curzytek 0, 18 Przemyslaw Liszka 0.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.