Pinturault back on the winning track with Giant Slalom win

Courtesy of Red Bull Media Service Team

The Frenchman triumphs in Garmisch with 27th World Cup victory.

France’s Alexis Pinturault confirmed his return to form when he won a FIS World Cup giant slalom in Garmisch-Partenkirchen on Sunday. Here’s all you need to know:

– The Frenchman, who has now won 27 World Cup races, won ahead of first leg pacesetter Lionel Meillard of Switzerland and Norway’s Leif Kristian Nestvold-Haugen.

Alexis Pinturault won in a combined time of 2:03.10, leading Meillard by 0.16 and Nestvold-Haugen by 0.35.

– It was the Frenchman’s 27th World Cup victory, the 13th in the Giant Slalom.

– Pinturault was 4th after the first leg, won by Meillard, but skied a near-perfect second run to snatch his 4th win of the season.

– The Frenchman won his first World Cup giant slalom in Garmsich-Partenkirchen in 2013.

– The victory was also his 60th World Cup podium, the 31st in a GS.

– It was a great morale booster for Pinturault as his three last GS results had been disappointing – 17th in Beaver Creek, 8th in Alta Badia and 10th in Adelboden.

– The victory lifted Pinturault to second in the overall World Cup standings on 822 points, behind Henrik Kristoffersen, who is on 877. Norway’s Aleksander Aamodt Kilde is third on 820.

– The Frenchman is also third if the giant slalom crystal globe race on 272 points behind Slovenia’s Zan Kranjec on 315 and Kristoffersen on 289.    

Race results

    1. Alexis Pinturault (France) 2:03.10
    2. Loic Meillard (Switzerland) + 0.16
    3. Leif Kristian Nestvold-Haugen (Norway) +0.24
    4. Filip Zubcic (Croatia) +0.35
    5. Zan Kranjec (Slovenia) +0.52
    6. Aleksander Aamodt Kilde (Norway) +0.54
    7. Henrik Kristoffersen (Norway) +0.79
    8. Victor Muffat-Jandet (France) +0.80
    9. Stefan Luitz (Germany) +1.00
    10.Gino Caviezel (Switzerland) +1.06

FIS Overall World Cup standings
    1. Henrik Kristoffersen (Norway) 877 points
    2. Alexis Pinturault (France) 822
    3. Aleksander Aamodt Kilder (Norway) 820
    4. Mathias Mayer (Austria) 692
    5. Beat Feuz (Switzerland) 617
    6. Vincent Krriechmayr (Austria) 588
    7. Dominik Paris (Italy) 556
    8. Daniel Yule (Switzerland) 495
    9. Kjetil Jansrud (Norway) 466
    10.Clement Noel (France) 450

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.