No Competition Today at Billabong Pipe Masters

Courtesy of WSL – World Surf League

– Small Surf and Onshore Winds Prompt Lay Day at Pipe
– More Available at

2012 WSL Champion and Pipe Master Joel Parkinson (AUS) will surf against rookies Connor O’Leary (AUS) and Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA) in Round 1 Heat 11 when the Billabong Pipe Masters resumes. Credit: © WSL / Heff

Location:      Banzai Pipeline, Oahu/Hawaii 
Event window:   December 8 – 20, 2017
Today’s call:   Competition called OFF for the day
Conditions:   2 – 3 foot (0.5 – 1 metre)

BANZAI PIPELINE, Oahu, Hawaii/USA (Tuesday, December 12, 2017) – The Billabong Pipe Masters in Memory of Andy Irons, the final stop on the 2017 World Surf League (WSL) Championship Tour (CT) and the third event of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing (VTCS), will not see competition run today due to diminished swell and onshore winds at Pipeline.

“The event is off today,” said WSL Commissioner, Kieren Perrow. “The wind is still blowing out of the West direction, so it’s onshore and the swell has dropped off much more than we thought. Only two-to-three foot on the sets so marginal conditions.”

When competition resumes, three-time WSL Champion Mick Fanning (AUS) will face 2017 CT Rookie Frederico Morais (PRT) and Italo Ferreira (BRA) in Round 1 Heat 12.

Sebastian Zietz (HAW) will go up against  Adrian Buchan (AUS) and Ian Gouveia (BRA) in Round 1 Heat 10 of the Billabong Pipe Masters.

2012 Pipe Master Joel Parkinson (AUS) will be one to watch in Round 1 as he comes up against 2017 CT rookies Connor O’Leary (AUS) and Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA).

Event organizers will reconvene at 7:30 a.m. HST tomorrow to reassess the conditions and make the next call.

Surfline, official forecaster for the Billabong Pipe Masters, are calling for:

After a slower start on Tuesday, a new NW swell will build through Tuesday afternoon and peak on Wednesday with XXL size surf washing Pipe out. A frontal passage will bring onshore wind Tuesday (clocking from SW to W to NW/N through the day) and onshore N/NNE wind behind the front on Wednesday.  Thursday and Friday will see a decreasing trend in swell with strong NE trades. Confidence is slowly increasing that a mid-size NW swell will build in through Sunday and continue Monday with a decent chance for light wind.   

The event will be broadcast LIVE via, the WSL app and on Facebook LIVE via the WSL’s Facebook page. Also check local listings for coverage on CBS Sports Network in the U.S., the Spectrum SURF Channel in Hawaii, Fox Sports in Australia, ESPN in Brazil, Sky NZ in New Zealand, SFR Sports in France and Portugal, Sport TV in Portugal and the EDGEsport Network.

For more information, check out

Billabong Pipe Masters Remaining Round 1 Match-Ups:
Heat 10: 
Sebastian Zietz (HAW), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Ian Gouveia (BRA)
Heat 11: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Connor O’Leary (AUS), Leonardo Fioravanti (ITA)
Heat 12: Mick Fanning (AUS), Frederico Morais (PRT), Italo Ferreira (BRA)

About the World Surf League
The World Surf League (WSL), formerly the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP), is dedicated to celebrating the world’s best surfing on the world’s best waves through a variety of best-in-class audience platforms. The League, headquartered in Santa Monica, is a truly global sport with regional offices in Australasia, Africa, North America, South America, Hawaii, Japan and Europe.

The WSL has been championing the world’s best surfing since 1976, running in excess of 180 global events across the Men’s and Women’s Championship Tours, the Big Wave Tour, Qualifying Series, Junior and Longboard Championships, as well as the WSL Big Wave Awards. The League possesses a deep appreciation for the sport’s rich heritage while promoting progression, innovation and performance at the highest levels, and in doing so crowns the undisputed world champions in Men’s, Women’s across all divisions within the tour.

Showcasing the world’s best surfing on its digital platform at as well as the free WSL app, the WSL has a passionate global fan base with millions tuning in to see world-class athletes like Tyler Wright, John John Florence, Paige Alms, Grant Baker, Phil Rajzman, Tory Gilkerson, Mick Fanning, Stephanie Gilmore, Kelly Slater, Carissa Moore, Gabriel Medina, Courtney Conlogue and more battle on the most unpredictable and dynamic field of play of any sport in the world.

For more information, please visit



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.