Nino Schurter / Lars Forster (SUI) and Annika Langvad / Anna van der Breggen (DEN/NED) crowned 2019 Cape Epic champions!

Courtesy of quattro media

MTB clip | Absa Cape Epic 2019: Schurter/Forster (SUI) and Langvad/van der Breggen claim overall victory!

@ Greg Beadle / Nick Muzik , Absa Cape Epic 2019

The Cape Epic 2019 took 1400 riders from the iconic slopes of Table Mountain’s National Park – to the craggy shoreline of the Southern Coast and on traversing the famous Winelands and beyond into the high mountains of the Western Cape. The 2019 route visited Hermanus, Oak Valley and Stellenbosch, and finished today at the Val de Vie Estate. The Cape Epic is the only 8-day mountain bike stage race classed as hors catégorie by the Union Cycliste Internationale (UCI), known as the “Tour de France” in mountain biking. The bare statistics of the toughest mountain bike stage race in the world:  eight days, 630 kilometres and 16 650 meters of climbing.

Today’s men race was decided by Sergio Mantecon Gutierrez (ESP) and Ondřej Cink (CZE) in a thrilling sprint finish against the local heroes Philip Buys (RSA) and Matthys Beukes (RSA). World champion Nino Schurter (SUI) and European champion Lars Forster (SUI) played it safe today and are crowned the well-deserved 2019 Cape Epic champions. The women race was not up for any surprises. Annika Langvad (DEN) and Anna van der Breggen (NED) took their sixth stage win. Langvad (DEN) made history by claiming her fifth Cape Epic title within five starts.

Stage 7 – MEN Stage 7 – WOMEN
1. Sergio Mantecon Gutierrez (ESP) & Ondřej Cink (CZE) 1. Annika Langvad (DEN) & Anna van der Breggen (NED)
2. Philip Buys (RSA) & Matthys Beukes (RSA) 2. Candice Lill (RSA) & Adelheid Morath (GER)
3. Sebastian Fini (DEN) & Martins Blums (LAT) 3. Ariane Lüthi (SUI) & Maja Wloszczowska (POL)
Overall / GC – MEN Overall / GC – WOMEN
1. Nino Schurter (SUI) & Lars Forster (SUI) 1. Annika Langvad (DEN) & Anna van der Breggen (NED) // Overall Leader
2. Manuel Fumic (GER) & Henrique Avancini (BRA) 2. Candice Lill (RSA) & Adelheid Morath (GER)
3. Damiano Ferraro (ITA) & Samuele Porro (ITA) 3. Ariane Lüthi (SUI) & Maja Wloszczowska (POL)

Absa Cape Epic 2019 – Stage 7 – Grand Finale – News from World of Freesports on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.