Naasz and Trunzo win on home ice at Boston’s exciting Fenway debut

Courtesy of Red Bull Media Service Team

Americans closer to Red Bull Crashed Ice titles after iconic stadium round.

Ice cross downhill skaters Cameron Naasz and Amanda Trunzo thrilled their home fans in Boston as Red Bull Crashed Ice made its stadium debut at the iconic Fenway. Here is all you need to know:

– 2016 and 2017 champion Naasz started the weekend as a clear favourite and posted the best time in Friday’s time trials. He remained unbeaten heading into the final against Scott Croxall, Luca Dallago and Tristan Dugerdil.

– Drawing on huge home support, the American led from start to finish for another classy win with Austrian Dallago passing two-time champion Croxall of Canada late on for second leaving Frenchman Dugerdil fourth.

– He said: “There was some good racing and the crowd was amazing. I hope we do a lot more of these in the future. I like this track. It is very technical and there are some very tricky features, so it is right up my alley.”

– Naasz’s title rivals had a tough night as Jyväskylä winner Kyle Croxall of Canada finished 30th after being kicked out of his Round of 32 heat with double World Junior Champion Mirko Lahti out in his quarter-final.

– Naasz is now back in top spot of the ATSX Ice Cross Downhill World Championship with less than 300 points separating the top five ahead of the last two ATSX 500 races in Mont du Lac (USA) and La Sarre (Canada).

– In the women, reigning champion Trunzo made it a clean sweep for the USA to continue her 100% record in Red Bull Crashed Ice races this season on the 350-metre artificial ice track that was racing in perfect condition.

– With the skaters going down at speeds of up to 80km/h, Trunzo saw off Canadian Myriam Trépanier, fellow American Tamara Meuwissen and Swiss title contender Anaïs Morand in the final to lead overall with two-time champion Jacqueline Légère of Canada fifth.

Men’s result: 1. Cameron Naasz (USA), 2. Luca Dallago (AUT), 3. Scott Croxall (CAN), 4. Tristan Dugerdil (FRA), 5. Tommy Mertz (USA), 6. Michael Iulianello (USA), 7. Matt Johnson (USA), 8. Shayne Renaud (CAN), 9. Jim De Paoli (SUI), 10. Antti Tolvanen (FIN).

Women’s result: 1. Amanda Trunzo (USA), 2. Myriam Trépanier (CAN), 3. Tamara Meuwissen (USA), 4. Anaïs Morand (SUI), 5. Jacqueline Légère (CAN), 6. Tamara Kajah (CAN), 7. Junko Yamamoto (JPN), 8. Maxie Planté (CAN), 9. Elaine Topolnisky (CAN), 10. Emma Krieter (USA).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.