Marvin Musquin Pushes Through to Finish a Hard-Fought 11th at High Point National

Courtesy of KTM Racing

MT. MORRIS, Penn. – It was another successful day on Saturday for KTM as Rocky Mountain ATV*MC/WPS/KTM Team’s Blake Baggett earned his second consecutive overall victory and the points lead, while Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Team’s Marvin Musquin toughed out a mid-week knee injury to finish 11th at the High Point National, the fourth round of the AMA Pro Motocross Championship.

Musquin was mid-pack at the start of the first 450 moto and focused on riding a solid race. He stayed consistent in 16th the majority of the race and held strong to the finish. He pulled a decent start in the second moto and was working hard in 11th by the second lap. He charged up to eighth with seven minutes to go before putting in one last hard-fought push to finish sixth. The 16-6 finish gave him 11th overall on the day. He is currently 2nd in 450 rider point standings.

Musquin: “This week was all about salvaging points in the championship. I hurt my left knee so knew it was going to be tough coming into High Point, especially since we were coming in with the red plate. I had to ride both races with my feet on the pegs basically unable to put my left leg out, which obviously restricted what I was able to do on the track. It was tough. But I gave it everything I had and we leave here second in points so it could have been a lot worse. I guess the next few weeks will be about salvaging points and I will just keep trying to do my best.”

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Team’s Trey Canard missed the first four rounds of racing due to a collarbone injury sustained in a practice crash before the season. Canard plans to make his return to the AMA Pro Motocross Championship in the coming rounds.

Next Round: Tennessee National – June 24, 2017


1. Blake Baggett , KTM (1-2)
2. Jason Anderson, HQV (5-3)
3. Broc Tickle, SUZ (4-4)
4. Eli Tomac, KAW (12-1)
5. Cooper Webb, YAM (6-5)
6. Josh Grant, KAW (3-11)
7. Dean Ferris, YAM (2-14)
8. Dean Wilson, HQV (9-7)
9. Justin Bogle, SUZ (7-9)
10. Cole Seely, HON (10-8)
11. Marvin Musquin, KTM (16-6)


1. Jeremy Martin, HON (2-1)
2. Zach Osborne, HQV (1-2)
3. Aaron Plessinger, YAM (3-3)
4. Dylan Ferrandis, YAM (4-4)
5. Alex Martin, KTM (7-5)
6. Austin Forkner, KAW (6-6)
7. Joey Savatgy, KAW (8-7)
8. RJ Hampshire, HON (9-8)
9. Adam Cianciarulo, KAW (5-13)
10. Mitchell Harrison, YAM (10-9)


1. Blake Baggett (155)
2. Marvin Musquin (147)
3. Eli Tomac (144)
4. Jason Anderson (129)
5. Broc Tickle (115)
6. Justin Bogle (112)
7. Dean Wilson (110)
8. Josh Grant (106)
9. Cole Seely (105)
10. Cooper Webb (88)


1. Zach Osborne (166)
2. Jeremy Martin (148)
3. Alex Martin (140)
4. Joey Savatgy (120)
5. Austin Forkner (119)
6. Aaron Plessinger (118)
7. Adam Cianciarulo (109)
8. Dylan Ferrandis (100)
9. Colt Nichols (98)
10. Mitchell Harrison (89)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.