Lay Day Called at EDP Billabong Pro Ericeira @wsl

Courtesy of World Surf League (WSL) Europe




The new swell failed to build up in time today in Ericeira. Credit: © WSL / Poullenot


PRAIA DE RIBEIRA D’ILHAS, Ericeira / Portugal (Wednesday, September 26, 2018) – A lay day has been called on Day 3 of the QS10,000 EDP Billabong Pro Ericeira waiting period with inconsistent two foot surf only on offer at Ribeira d’Ilhas today.

“We’ve been monitoring conditions since dawn this morning and the swell hasn’t really filled in yet,” Rob Gunning, WSL European tour manager stated. “It’s highly inconsistent and we can’t run in these conditions, so we’ve called a lay day and we’ll be back early tomorrow to potentially resume in great conditions.”

The  EDP Billabong Pro Ericeira is a crucial event in the race to qualify for the 2019 Championship Tour with a massive 10,000 ranking points up for grabs for the winner. A couple of lucky surfers will have a first taste of the CT next week at the Quiksilver Pro France as both the highest QS surfer and highest French surfer on the QS will be awarded wildcards into the event.

The EDP Billabong Pro Ericeira will be broadcast LIVE on the WSL’s Facebook page. Also, check local listings for coverage from the WSL’s broadcast partners.

The EDP Billabong Pro Ericeira is scheduled from September 24-30, 2018 in playa de Ribeira d’Ilhas, Ericeira / PORTUGAL. For all results, photos, video highlights and press releases, log on to EDP Billabong Pro Ericeira is supported by EDP, Billabong, Tourism of Portugal, Mafra City Council, MEO, Jogos Santa Casa, Jeep, You & The Sea Hotel and Apartments, Turkish Airlines, Brisa, Auto Estradas do Atlântico and Hertz among others.

Heat 17:  Ezekiel Lau (HAW), Maxime Huscenot (FRA), Aritz Aranburu (ESP), Jordan Lawler (AUS)
Heat 18:  Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Thiago Camarao (BRA), Jeronimo Vargas (BRA), Jake Marshall (USA)
Heat 19:  Keanu Asing (HAW), Reef Heazlewood (AUS), Tanner Gudauskas (USA), Josh Burke (BRB)
Heat 20:  Adriano De Souza (BRA), Barron Mamiya (HAW), Jacob Willcox (AUS), Gony Zubizarreta (ESP)
Heat 21: Frederico Morais (PRT), Charly Martin (FRA), Davey Cathels (AUS), Lucas Silveira (BRA)
Heat 22: Patrick Gudauskas (USA), Nat Young (USA), Jackson Baker (AUS), Gatien Delahaye (FRA)
Heat 23: Jadson Andre (BRA), Jack Freestone (AUS), Tanner Hendrickson (HAW), Tomas Tudela (PER)
Heat 24: Willian Cardoso (BRA), Vasco Ribeiro (PRT), Flavio Nakagima (BRA), Kalani Ball (AUS)


About WSL
The World Surf League (WSL) is dedicated to celebrating the world’s best surfing on the world’s best waves through a variety of best-in-class audience platforms. The organization, headquartered in Santa Monica, is a global sport with regional offices in Australasia, Africa, North America, South America, Hawaii, Japan and Europe.The WSL has been championing the world’s best surfing since 1976, annually running more than 180 global events across the Men’s and Women’s Championship Tours, the Big Wave Tour, Qualifying Series, Junior and Longboard Championships, as well as the WSL Big Wave Awards. The League possesses a deep appreciation for the sport’s rich heritage while promoting progression, innovation and performance at the highest levels, and in doing so crowns the undisputed Men’s and Women’s World Champions across all tours.

Showcasing the world’s best surfing on its digital platform at, the WSL has a passionate global fan base with millions tuning in to see world-class athletes like Kelly Slater, Stephanie Gilmore, Tyler Wright, John Florence, Lakey Peterson, Paige Alms, Kai Lenny, Taylor Jensen, Honolua Blomfield, Carissa Moore, Gabriel Medina, Courtney Conlogue and more battle on the most dynamic field of play of any global sport.

For more information, please visit



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.