Lay Day Called at 2017 Jeep World Junior Championship in Kiama

Courtesy of WSL – World Surf League

– Small swell forces competition off on day 3 of the window

Reed Heazlewood (AUS) will surf in Heat 3 of Round Two when competition resumes at the WSL Jeep World Junior Championship in Kiama, NSW. Credit: © WSL / Matt Dunbar

Location:              Bombo Beach, Kiama NSW/Australia
Event window:     January 4 – 12, 2018
Today’s call:         Off For The Day – Next Call Sunday, Jan 7th, 7:00 AM local time
Conditions:          Bumpy 0.5 – 1 foot waves 

Kiama,  NSW/AUS  (Saturday, January  6, 2018) –  With a lack of swell at Bombo Beach a lay day has been called on Day 3 of the 2017 Jeep World Junior Championship. With 3 days needed to finish the event and seven days left in the window, event organisers are going to wait for the best conditions on offer so will reconvene tomorrow morning and make another call.

“As we had anticipated the swell has backed right off through yesterday afternoon and last night,” said WSL contest director Will Hayden-Smith. “There really isn’t much on offer today so we have called a lay day and will come back tomorrow and make another call. There are some increases in swell over the next few days so we would prefer to wait, and give competitors the best opportunity possible.”

The 2017 WSL Jeep World Junior Championship will be held from January 4 – 12, 2018. For more information, highlights and images, head to and on the WSL App.

2017 WSL Jeep World Junior Championships Men’s Round Two Match-Ups:

Heat 1: Finn McGill (HAW) vs. Kauli Vaast (FRA)
Heat 2: Rio Waida (IDN) vs. Jhonny Guerrero Yauri (PER)
Heat 3: Reef Heazlewood (AUS) vs. Ocean Macedo (HAW)
Heat 4: John Mel (USA) vs.  Keanu Kamiyama (JPN)
Heat 5: Yuji Nishi (JPN) vs.  Marco Mignot (FRA)
Heat 6: Joao Chianca (BRA) vs. Theo Julitte (FRA)
Heat 7: Cole Houshmand (USA) vs. Yuri Ogasawara (JPN)
Heat 8: Joshe Faulkner (ZAF) vs. Max Elkington (ZAF)
Heat 9: Tyler Gunter (USA) vs.  Eli Hanneman (HAW)
Heat 10: Ryland Rubens (USA) vs.  Ford Van Jaarsveldt (ZAF)
Heat 11: Mikey McDonagh (AUS) vs. Lucas Wrice (AUS)
Heat 12: Adin Masencamp (ZAF) vs. Te Kehukehu Butler (NZL)

About the World Surf League
The World Surf League (WSL), formerly the Association of Surfing Professionals (ASP), is dedicated to celebrating the world’s best surfing on the world’s best waves through a variety of best-in-class audience platforms. The League, headquartered in Santa Monica, is a truly global sport with regional offices in Australasia, Africa, North America, South America, Hawaii, Japan and Europe.

The WSL has been championing the world’s best surfing since 1976, running in excess of 180 global events across the Men’s and Women’s Championship Tours, the Big Wave Tour, Qualifying Series, Junior and Longboard Championships, as well as the WSL Big Wave Awards. The League possesses a deep appreciation for the sport’s rich heritage while promoting progression, innovation and performance at the highest levels, and in doing so crowns the undisputed world champions in Men’s, Women’s across all divisions within the tour.

Showcasing the world’s best surfing on its digital platform at as well as the free WSL app, the WSL has a passionate global fan base with millions tuning in to see world-class athletes like Tyler Wright, John John Florence, Paige Alms, Grant Baker, Phil Rajzman, Tory Gilkerson, Mick Fanning, Stephanie Gilmore, Kelly Slater, Carissa Moore, Gabriel Medina, Courtney Conlogue and more battle on the most unpredictable and dynamic field of play of any sport in the world.

For more information, please visit



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.