Iffland defends title and Paredes beats Hunt finally

Courtesy of quattro media

Jonathan Paredes (MEX) and Rhiannan Iffland (AUS) are taking the titles in the 2017 Cliff Diving World Series, Lago Ranco (CHI) – 21st of October 2017

Nikita Fedotov of Russia dives from the 27 metre platform during the sixth and final stop of the Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series at Rininahue waterfall, Lago Ranco, Chile on October 21, 2017.

In a location that is only just shaking off the last remnants of winter, 28-year-old Paredes finally lived up to his billing as the ‘style master’ and performed his new hardest dive for the highest competition score of the year to top the podium in Chile. Australia’s Rhiannan Iffland overcame injury to display the heart of a true champion and secure her second title in as many seasons.

Looking at the overall results from the 27m platform, the King Kahekili Trophy went to Mexico for the very first time in nine years of the World Series. “Become the champion”, was the new title holder’s personal goal before the 2017 season and it was in his sixth year on the World Series that the Mexican took the top spot following a third and a second placed overall finish in the previous two years. Today’s third-placed finisher Alessandro De Rose, Andy Jones and David Colturi (both USA) complete the top six of the 2017 World Series to prequalify for the 2018 season. In addition to the top six of the 2017 World Series ranking, the remaining four permanent tickets for the 2018 season were assigned according to the rankings after 9 events, including the FINA World Cup, the FINA World Championships and Marmeeting: Michal Navratil (CZE), Steven LoBue (USA), Orlando Duque (COL) and Kris Kolanus (POL).

In the women’s Iffland and Merten made it an Australian double with Adriana Jimenez from Mexico completing the women’s top three. Despite Ginger Huber being forced to pull out due to injury, the American finished fourth overall and automatically qualified for the 2017 season as well. Yana Nestsiarava (BLR) and Germany’s Anna Bader got awarded a permanent ticket for the fifth year of the women’s World Series. According to the injury policy of the Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series, Lysanne Richard is automatically qualified as a permanent diver for 2018 although the Canadian could not compete this season.

Rhiannan Iffland (L) of Australia and Jonathan Paredes of Mexico celebrate with the World Series trophies during the sixth and final stop of the Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series at Rininahue waterfall, Lago Ranco, Chile on October 21, 2017.

Six tough and testing competitions to outperform the finest cliff divers – the fight for glory in the World Series’ ninth season was arguably the most unpredictable to date. Three seconds of acrobatic free fall at venues ranging from natural wonders and visual feasts to historic sites and unknown grounds pushed the boundaries of this rapidly progressing sport in 2017. This pure extreme sport hit new as well as proven waters across Europe and North America before crowning the new champions at an original location in South America.

Final standings (after 6 of 6 stops)


1- Jonathan Paredes (MEX) – 720pts.

2- Gary Hunt (GBR) – 710

3- Blake Aldridge (GBR) – 580

4- Alessandro De Rose (W) (ITA) – 530

5- Andy Jones (USA) – 478

6- David Colturi (USA) – 430


1- Rhiannan Iffland (AUS) – 890pts.

2- Helena Merten (AUS) – 740

3- Adriana Jimenez (MEX) – 690

4- Ginger Huber (USA) – 520

Red Bull Cliff Diving World Series 2017 – Best Moments – Lago Ranco (CHI) from World of Freesports on Vimeo.





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.