Iconic FIM Speedway Grand Prix venues Wroclaw and Vojens return as provisional SGP 2019 calendar announced

Courtesy of FIM Speedway Grand Prix

The provisional calendar for the 2019 FIM Speedway Grand Prix series has been revealed as World Championship racing returns to legendary venues Wroclaw and Vojens.

Wroclaw’s Olympic Stadium in Poland hosted the first-ever SGP event in 1995, while Danish track Vojens hosted the last-ever World Final in 1994 before the SGP series was introduced.

Vojens last welcomed an SGP round in 2014 and it has been 11 years since the last European SGP staged in Wroclaw. But both venues are back for 2019 as eight different countries host 11 rounds of World Championship action.

The series opens with the PZM Warsaw SGP of Poland in front of what’s set to be a packed PGE Narodowy on May 18.

The action moves to Krsko on June 1 for the Slovenian SGP, before Prague’s Marketa Stadium – the series’ longest-serving venue – hosts its 23rd Czech Republic SGP on June 15.

Hallstavik, which staged its first ever SGP event this summer, is once again the venue for the Swedish SGP on July 6.

After a one-month break for the series, Wroclaw’s Olympic Stadium makes its much-anticipated return to the FIM Speedway Grand Prix calendar with the Wroclaw SGP of Poland on August 3.

The action moves to the forests of Malilla, Sweden for the Scandinavian SGP on August 17.

Teterow’s Bergring Arena plays host to the German SGP on August 31, before the Danish SGP comes to Vojens a week later on September 7.

The jewel in the SGP crown, the Adrian Flux British SGP, returns to Cardiff on September 21 – the latest point in the season the event has been staged as the world’s top riders race for high stakes under the Principality Stadium roof.

The final European round takes place in Torun on October 5, before the series heads back Down Under after a one-year break for the Australian SGP, with the date and venue to be confirmed.

BSI Speedway managing director Torben Olsen looks forward to seeing the world’s top riders grace the sport’s finest venues once again in 2019.

He said: “It’s great to welcome so many long-serving venues back for another year and it’s a real pleasure to have Wroclaw and Vojens back on the calendar – they are two great tracks with a rich history in the sport.

“With the SGP 2019 line-up revealed and the calendar announced, the countdown to next season is already well underway and we’re very excited to see what the series has in store.

“After winning an historic third world title, Great Britain’s Tai Woffinden will be determined to try and win back-to-back championships for the first time. But this will be no easy task against such an impressive field.”

The calendar for the Monster Energy FIM Speedway of Nations will be revealed in due course.



May 18: PZM Warsaw FIM Speedway Grand Prix of Poland (Warsaw)

June 1: Slovenian FIM Speedway Grand Prix (Krsko)

June 15: Czech Republic FIM Speedway Grand Prix (Prague)

July 6: Swedish FIM Speedway Grand Prix (Hallstavik)

August 3: Wroclaw FIM Speedway Grand Prix of Poland (Wroclaw)

August 17: Scandinavian FIM Speedway Grand Prix (Malilla, Sweden)

August 31: German FIM Speedway Grand Prix (Teterow)

September 7: Danish FIM Speedway Grand Prix (Vojens)

September 21: Adrian Flux British FIM Speedway Grand Prix (Cardiff)

October 5: Torun FIM Speedway Grand Prix of Poland (Torun)

TBC October: Australian FIM Speedway Grand Prix (TBC)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.