Another podium for Svindal on favourite Beaver Creek piste

Courtesy of Red Bull Media Service Team

Norwegian takes third in second downhill of the FIS World Cup despite hand injury.

A record four-time winner of the Beaver Creek downhill, Aksel Lund Svindal had to settle for third on the classic Birds of Prey piste behind the Swiss pair of Beat Feuz and Mauro Caviezel.

World champion Feuz won in 1:13.59, beating his compatriot by 0.07 and Svindal by 0.08. Here is all you need to know: 

– The race was held on a shortened course because of the heavy snowfalls in Beaver Creek which forced Thursday’s last training session to be cancelled.

– A Super-G was originally scheduled for Friday but it was switched to Saturday because of the weather conditions and replaced by the downhill initially planned the next day.

– Svindal won the Beaver Creek downhill in 2009, 2014, 2016 and 2018. This was his 14th FIS World Cup podium in the Colorado resort.

– The Norwegian received surgery to his left hand two weeks ago and started all his races so far this season with a strapped wrist.

– Competitor Thomas Dressen lost balance at mid-course and finished his run in the safety nets. The German was carried away on a stretcher and taken to hospital for further tests.

– It was downhill world champion Feuz’s 8th World Cup victory in the discipline, the first in Beaver Creek.

– Beaver Creek has hosted FIS World Cup races since 1988, 21 of them downhills.

Top 10 results
1. Beat Feuz (Switzerland) 1:13.59
2. Mauro Caviezel (Switzerland) 0.07 seconds behind
3. Aksel Lund Svindal (Norway) 0.08
4. Adrien Theaux (France) 0.21
5= Johan Clarey (France) 0.26
5= Vincent Kriechmayr (Austria) 0.26
7. Hannes Reichelt (Austria) 0.45
8. Christian Walder (Austria) 0.54
9= Steven Nyman (U.S.) 0.56
9= Bryce Bennett (U.S.) 0.56

Overall FIS World Cup standings
1. Vincent Kriechmayr (Austria) 175
2. Beat Feuz (Switzerland) 166
3. Mauro Caviezel (Switzerland) 147
4. Max Franz (Austria) 138
5. Aksel Lund Svindal (Norway) 137
6. Kjetil Jansrud (Norway) 134
7. Marcel Hirscher (Austria) 100
8. Hannes Reichelt (Austria) 99
9. Johan Clarey (France) 97
10. Dominik Paris (Italy) 92

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.