57 Racers still chasing 2018 SCORE Milestone Awards

Courtesy of SCORE MEDIA CONTACT: Dominic Clark

57 racers standing in 2018 SCORE Milestone Awards chase

After 3 rounds of 2018 SCORE World Desert Championship

For Pro and Sportsman racers in cars, trucks, UTVs, motorcycles and quads completing every required race mile
Season finale Nov. 12-18 at iconic 51st SCORE Baja 1000 in Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico
     ENSENADA, Mexico—After the third of four races in the 2018 SCORE World Desert Championship, 57 of the toughest racers in the world remain in the hunt to earn 2018 SCORE Milestone Awards. In late September in Tijuana, Baja California, Mexico, Round 3 was held at the Lucerna Hotels & Resorts Tijuana 22nd SCORE Desert Challenge.
     SCORE is presenting these prestigious awards to the world’s toughest desert racers for the 33rd consecutive year. The SCORE Milestone awards will be presented to the car, truck, UTV drivers and motorcycle, quad riders who finish every required mile in the 2018 SCORE World Desert Championship. In three rounds, racers have been required to cover 995.92 miles so far this season.
     Ending the season will be the iconic 51st SCORE Baja 1000, starting and finishing in Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico. The Granddaddy of All Desert Races, this year’s race week activities and race will be held on Nov. 12-18. The single-loop race course will cover 806.76 rugged miles over the majestic and mysterious northern part of Baja California.
     Leading the way in the chase for 2018 SCORE Milestone Awards are four superlative stallions in the featured SCORE Trophy Truck division, one in the new SCORE TT Legend class, two in the unlimited Class 1, six in Trophy Truck Spec, four in Class 10, six in Pro UTV FI (Forced Injection), three in Pro Moto Unlimited, three in Pro Moto 30 (riders over 30 years old) and two in Pro Moto Ironman (solo riders).
   “SCORE is privileged to honor the world’s best desert racing drivers and riders,” said Roger Norman, SCORE CEO/President. “For over three decades, SCORE has been very humbled to honor racers with the SCORE Milestone Awards. SCORE racers are the toughest, most rugged racers on the planet. This most prestigious award has become iconic in our sport.”
     Among the four SCORE Trophy Truck thoroughbreds who have galloped through every challenging race mile so far this season are: Rob MacCachren, Las Vegas (No. 11 Rockstar MacCachren Motorsports Ford F-150), Cameron Steele, San Clemente, Calif. (No. 16 Monster Energy Desert Assassins Chevy Silverado), Las Vegas brothers Tim Herbst/Ed Herbst (No. 19 Monster Energy Terrible Herbst Motorsports Ford F-150) and Chris Miller, Rancho Santa Fe, Calif. (No. 40 Toyota Tundra).
     Celebrating its 25th year since it was introduced by SCORE’s then-owner Sal Fish in 1994, SCORE Trophy Truck is the sport’s marquee racing division for high-tech, 950 horsepower unlimited custom trucks.
     The lone racer still chasing the award in the SCORE TT Legend class for SCORE Trophy Truck racers over 50 years old is Gustavo Vildosola Sr, Mexicali, Mexico (No. 12L Chevy Silverado).
     The racers still in the hunt for the coveted awards from Class 1 for unlimited open-wheel desert race cars are Brad Wilson, Long Beach, Calif. (No. 153, Jimco-Chevy) and Brandon Bailey, Riverside, Calif. (No. 129, PPI/Jefferies-Chevy).
     Leading the six racers in Trophy Truck Spec are William Hedrick Jr, Vicente Guerrero, Mexico (No. 295, ID-Chevy), Bryce Swaim, El Cajon, Calif. (No. 242, TSCO-Chevy), Elias Hanna, Ensenada, Mexico (No. 200, Chevy Silverado) and Sara Price, Lake Elsinore, Calif. (No. 204 Geiser-Chevy).
     Three of the drivers still in the chase for these awards from the super-competitive Class 10 for single or two-seat open wheel desert race cars with limited engines are Broc Dickerson, Brawley, Calif. (No. 1023 Alumi Craft-Chevy), Todd Winslow, Clovis, Calif. (No. 1081, Alumi Craft-Chevy) and Ty Godde, Palmdale, Calif. (No. 1049 Eversen-Chevy).
     Among the six racers still in the hunt in the Pro UTV FI (Forced Induction) class are Wayne Matlock, Alpine, Calif. (No. 2971, Polaris RZR XP4 Turbo), Tony Riggs, Newhall, Calif. (No. 2912, Polaris RZR Turbo) and Brandon Schueler, Phoenix (No. 2919, Polaris RZR XP4 Turbo).
      Leading the motorcycle classes, Pro Moto Unlimited and Pro Moto 30 (riders over 30 years old) each has five racers still pursuing 2018 SCORE Milestone Awards. These sturdy groups of riders are led by the teams headed by riders of records Justin Morgan, El Cajon, Calif. (No. 7x Honda CRF450X) and Ryan Liebelt, Reedley, Calif. (No. 300x Yamaha WR450F).
     For more information regarding SCORE, visit the official website of the SCORE World Desert Championship at www.SCOREInternational.com.

2018 SCORE Milestone Awards

(57 car, truck, UTV, M/C and quad racers who have completed every required mile of the 2018 SCORE World Desert Championship )


SCORE Trophy Truck (4)
Rob MacCachren, Las Vegas
Cameron Steele, San Clemente, Calif.
Tim Herbst, Las Vegas
Chris Miller, La Jolla, Calif.
SCORE TT Legend (1)
Gus Vildosola Sr, Mexicali, Mexico
Class 1 (2)
Brad Wilson, Long Beach, Calif.
Brandon Bailey, Riverside, Calif.
Trophy Truck Spec (6)
William Hedrick Jr, Vicente Guerrero, Mexico
Bryce Swaim, El Cajon, Calif.
Elias Hanna, Ensenada, Mexico
Sara Price, Lake Elsinore, Calif.
Brian Trotter, Hardtner, Kansas
Scott Biernot, Hermosa Beach, Calif.
Class 10 (4)
Broc Dickerson, Brawley, Calif.
Todd Winslow, Clovis, Calif.
Ty Godde, Palmdale, Calif.
Kevin Price, Fremont, Calif.
Heavy Metal (1)
Vincent Munoz, Yucaipa, Calif.
Class 1/2-1600 (2)
Oscar Alvarez, McAllen, Texas
Gustavo Avina, Ensenada, Mexico
SCORE Lites (3)
Luis Barragan, Mexicali, Mexico
Jeremy Davis, Chino Hills, Calif.
Miguel Bonilla, Hermosillo, Calif.
CLASS 7 (2)
Dan Chamlee, Montecito, Calif.
Carlos Diaz, Calexico, Calif.
Pro UTV FI (6)
Wayne Matlock, Alpine, Calif.
Tony Riggs, Newhall, Calif.
Brandon Schueler, Phoenix
Scott Trafton, Alpine, Calif.
Luis Fortanel, Mexicali, Mexico
Jose Juarez, Chula Vista, Calif.
Pro UTV NA (2)
Kaden Wells, St. George, Utah
Paul Champion, Phoenix
Pro UTV Unlimited (1)
Jesus Mendez Jr, Mexicali, Mexico
Pro Moto Unlimited (3)
Justin Morgan, El Cajon, Calif.
(66x) Santiago Creel, Mexico City
Garrett Poucher, Valencia, Calif.
Pro Moto Limited (1)
Santiago Creel, Mexico City
Pro Moto 30 (3)
Ryan Liebelt, Reedley, Calif.
Luis M. Gomez, Obregon, Mexico
Chris Racan, Cardiff by the Sea, Calif.
Pro Moto 40 (2)
Jano Montoya, Winter Garden, Fla.
Salvador Sainz, Tijuana, Mexico
Pro Moto 50 (1)
Giovanni Spinali, El Cajon, Calif.
Pro Moto Ironman (2)
Francisco Septien, Ensenada, Mexico
Lawrence Janesky, Middlebury, Conn.
Pro Moto  60 (2)
Guy Laycraft, Canada
Pro Quad (2)
Said Sanchez, Tijuana, Mexico
Juan Sanchez, Chula Vista, Calif.
SPT Quad (1)
Danny Magdalena, Acton, Calif.
SPT M/C (6)
Schane Schorno, Discovery Baja, Calif.
Miguel Pena, Tijuana, Mexico
Rolando Cabrera, Ramona, Calif.
Carlos Silva, Mexicali, Mexico
R. Hank Salyer, Steamboat Springs, Colo.
Gabriel Barrios, Tijuana, Mexico

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.